Memorial Design Competition Stage 1 - 10 Nov 2007

On 7-9 November the APMP Design Competition Jury met in Canberra to consider the 25 registered and eligible entries to Stage 1 of the APMP Design Competition.

The Jury of nine comprised four APMPC Members (Chair, ADF Rep, Police Rep, UNAA Rep) plus advisers representing the Royal Australian Institute of Architects, the Australian Institute of Landscape Architects, the NCA, the Arts community and a heritage adviser. The process to select the short list was harmonious, most interesting, inclusive of all views and thorough. The Jury unanimously recommended four entries to proceed to Stage 2. These four entries are all very exciting and offer a range of responses to the design brief. The Jury believes they all have the potential to respond well to all elements of the design brief and to be developed into a fitting and appropriate Peacekeeping Memorial.

A report on the Jury recommendations will now be forwarded to the NCA for referral to the Canberra National Memorials Committee as soon as possible (due to the Federal election this may possibly not be before early February 2008). The four entrants will then be given about 5 weeks to respond to the Jury's comments and the Stage 2 Design competition requirements.

The Stage 2 submissions, which will include a scale model, will then be reconsidered by the Jury in about March 2008 and a recommendation made for a competition winner. It is still anticipated the announcement of the winner will be in April/May 2008.