From: Defence Media Centre
Sent: Mon 26/09/2011 9:17 AM

New Chair of Defence Honours and Awards Appeals Tribunal

Parliamentary Secretary for Defence Senator David Feeney today announced that Mr Alan D Rose AO has been appointed as the new Chair of the Defence Honours and Awards Appeals Tribunal.

“I am pleased to announce the appointment of Mr Alan Rose AO to the position of Chair of the Defence Honours and Awards Appeals Tribunal,” Senator Feeney said.

“As Chair of the Tribunal Mr Rose will manage the Tribunal, lead inquiries including the Victoria Cross Inquiry, and ratify panel decisions before making recommendations to the Government.

“Mr Rose is eminently qualified to undertake this important role. His experience as a barrister, administrative law lecturer, Reservist and Secretary of numerous federal departments will be a valuable addition to the Tribunal. I welcome him to the role.”

Mr Rose said it was a privilege to undertake this role.

“I am particularly keen to lead the Victoria Cross Inquiry,” he said.

Mr Rose is a barrister, solicitor and Consultant to HWL Ebsworth. From 1994 to 1999, he was President of the Australian Law Reform Commission.

From the early 1980s until the mid 1990s he was a Deputy Secretary of the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet and Secretary to the Department of Community Services.

He was also Associate Secretary and then Secretary to the Attorney-General’s Department. He was a member of the Administrative Review Council from 1982 to 1999.

During the early 1970s he was a lecturer at the University of Queensland Law School in legal history and administrative law.

Born in Brisbane, Mr Rose completed Bachelors of Arts and Law (Hons) at the University of Queensland.

He attended the London School of Economics, completing a Master of Laws, which focused on administrative law and tribunals.

Mr Rose was appointed an Officer in the Order of Australia for services to the law and public administration in 1994.

The appointment as Chair of the Defence Honours and Awards Appeals Tribunal is for three years and commences today.

Media Contact: Lorna Clarke – 0408 345 730